---- --- ----
Winston County, AL
The area now known as Winston was part of Marion and Blount Counties until 1824, when it was changed to Walker County. By 1850, Hancock County was made from the northern portion of Walker, and in 1858, the name was changed to Winston to honor the first Alabama-born governor John Anthony Winston. In 1877, the east portion of the county became part of Cullman. Winston County gained notoriety during the Civil War at a meeting at Looney's Tavern where supposedly Winston was declared the "Free State of Winston" with plans to secede from the state though it never did. The first county seat was Houston; in 1883, it was moved to Double Springs, which is still the county seat. The courthouse burned at Houston on 2/23/1868; it burned again in Double Springs on 8/5/1891. Another one was rebuilt, and it still stands today.
Winston features many unique cemeteries. For instance, at the Dodd Graveyard near Glen Mary, there are two Civil War brothers buried side by side, and one was for the Union and the other for the Confederacy during the war. Also, Pat Buttram, better known as Gene Autry's side-kick and Mr. Haney on Green Acres, is buried at Maxwell Chapel Cemetery near Pebble. Several Revolutionary War and War of 1812 soldiers are buried within Winston's boundaries, several of them fighting in both wars. The Old Lovett Cemetery is (with the exception of any Native American graves) quite possibly the oldest cemetery in Winston County. Henry H. Lovett was born on December 26, 1833 and died December 3, 1834; he rests here.
COUNTY REP CONTACT INFORMATION